News Article – 9/14/2010

September 14, 2010

Commission to Interview 9 Candidates for Arizona Supreme Court Vacancy.

Nine of the thirteen attorneys and judges who applied to fill a vacant seat on the Arizona Supreme Court have been granted interviews with the selecting committee:  Yuma County Superior Court Judge Andrew Gould; Arizona Court of Appeals Judges Diane Johnsen, Ann Scott Timmer, Maurice Portley, Lawrence Winthrop and John Gemmill; Yavapai County Superior Court Judge Robert Brutinel; Maricopa County Superior Court Judge James Beene; and Lisa Tewksbury Hauser, an attorney in private practice. 

The nine will appear on September 30 before the Commission Appellate Court Appointments to determine who will make the shortlist given to the governor to replace Justice Michael Ryan, who retired in August.