News Article – 5/14/2010

May 14, 2009

17 Applicants Being Considered by Commission to Replace Justice McGregor.

Seventeen individuals have applied to fill the supreme court vacancy that will be created when Justice McGregor retires in June.  The applicants are Eddward P. Ballinger Jr., Robert M. Brutinel, Kent E. Cattani, Norman J. Davis, Philip G. Espinosa, John C. Gemmill, Philip L. Hall, Lisa G. Tewksbury Hauser, Wallace R. Hoggatt, Robert C. Houser Jr., Diane M. Johnsen, Stephen H. Lesher, A. John Pelander III, Jose H. Robles, Thomas M. Ryan, Ann A. Scott Timmer, and Lawrence F. Winthrop. 

The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments will review the applications and hear comments at a public meeting on June 3. The meeting will be held at the Arizona State Courts Building in Phoenix, 1501 W. Washington, Conference Room 345, starting at 10:00 a.m. Citizens may address the commission at that time or send written comments to 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ, 85007 or to Comments must be received by May 29 to be considered. Anonymous comments cannot be considered.

At the June 3 meeting the commission will decide which applicants will be interviewed for the opening. The selected applicants will be interviewed on June 29. After the interviews, the commission will recommend at least three nominees to Governor Jan Brewer, who will appoint the new justice.