News Article – 11/13/2012

November 13, 2012

Seven Applicants Being Considered For Arizona Court of Appeals

The public is asked for comments on seven applicants for an opening on Division One of the Arizona Court of Appeals created by the appointment of Judge Ann Scott Timmer to the Arizona Supreme Court.

The applicants are Kent E. Cattani, Stephen M. Hopkins, Bradley R. Jardine, Foster Robberson, Patricia A. Sallen, Judith R. Schaffert, and Charles W. Wirken. Their applications can be viewed online at

The Commission on Appellate Court Appointments will review the applications and hear comments at a public meeting on November 27, 2012. The meeting will be held at the Arizona State Courts Building in Phoenix, 1501 W. Washington, Conference Room 101, starting at 1:30 p.m.  Citizens may address the commission at that time or send written comments to 1501 W. Washington, Suite 221, Phoenix, AZ, 85007 or to  Comments must be received by November 23rd to be considered.  Anonymous comments cannot be considered.

At the November 27th meeting the commission will decide which applicants will be interviewed for the opening.  The selected applicants will be interviewed on December 19, 2012.  After the interviews the commission will recommend at least three nominees for the opening to Governor Jan Brewer, who will appoint the new judge.